Mantivity with My Son #1: Watching Football

February 12, 2010

Since finding out that we’re having a boy, the only think I can think about is spending time with him, spending manly time with him.  In that spirit, I’ve decided to start a series of posts titled “Mantivities with My Son.”

In no specific order, Mantivity #1 is watching football.

Men appreciate athleticism, and men love collisions.  What’s the perfect combination of the two?  Football, of course.  Minus the really shiny pants and the gratuitous butt-slapping, football is really, really manly.  Watching it, and making a fool of yourself while rooting for your team has defined manhood for generations.

I’m going to watch a lot of football with my son.  I hope he learns to appreciate the nuances of the game, revels in the supreme athleticism of the competitors, cheers for the teams that I love (Go Utes!), and hates the teams that I hate (*cough* BYU *cough*).  If my son learns to love watching football, then I’ll have succeed in part of my fatherhood duties.

One Response to “Mantivity with My Son #1: Watching Football”

  1. Jules Calvano Says:

    Cornerback may not be the best position for you. It is one of the hardest and most demanding positions in terms of speed. If you’re better at tackling, you might want to be a safety or linebacker. If you’re good at catching you might want to consider being a receiver.*

    Our very own blog site
    <.http://www.prettygoddess.com/


Leave a Reply

